

2015 NASPI AWARDS ANNOUNCED

Department of Energy Deputy Assistant Secretary Douglas Hollett and NASPI Project Manager Alison Silverstein recognized significant contributors and accomplishments within the synchrophasor community on October 14, 2015, announcing the new 2015 NASPI Awards.

The NASPI Awards recognize some of the individuals and organizations whose work has advanced the deployment and value realization of synchrophasor technology. This year those awards include:

- <u>NASPI Volunteer of the Year Award</u> Ken Martin, Electric Power Group Ken has provided outstanding support to the advancement of synchrophasor technology for over two decades, and continues to provide leadership, advice and insight well above and beyond the normal call of duty.
- <u>NASPI Control Room Solutions Task Team Most Valuable Player Award</u> Sarma Nuthalapati, ERCOT – Sarma has been a leading organizer and contributor to the CRSTT and the NERC Synchronized Measurement Subcommittee and a public champion for synchrophasor technology.
- <u>NASPI Engineering Analysis Task Team Most Valuable Player Award</u> Matthew Rhodes, Salt River Project – Matthew has been a leader in working to update our understanding of how synchrophasor technology can be used for system protection.
- <u>NASPI Performance Requirements, Verification & Standards Task Team Most</u> <u>Valuable Player Award</u> – Allen Goldstein, National Institute for Standards & Technology – Allen has been a significant and persistent contributor on a variety of PMU measurement issues, including PMU testing, leap second impacts, and the potential impact of measurement error on synchrophasor applications.
- <u>NASPI Outstanding Student of the Year (Graduate level)</u> Lingwei Zhan, University of Tennessee Knoxville – Lingwei has been a leader in the development and deployment of Frequency Disturbance Recorders and the Universal Grid Analyzer, and has worked to improve PMU calibration and PMU clock stability.
- <u>NASPI Outstanding Utility of the Year</u> Electric Reliability Council of Texas ERCOT has been a leader in using synchrophasor technology for a variety of operating and planning functions, particularly for wind integration and baselining to set alarms and alerts.

• <u>NASPI Outstanding Utility of the Year</u> – Oklahoma Gas & Electric – OGE has been a leader in developing and implementing a variety of creative and practical uses for synchrophasor technology across its planning and operating functions.

The North American Synchrophasor Initiative works to advance the effectiveness and use of synchrophasor technology to enhance electric grid reliability and efficiency. NASPI was established in 2005 and is presently supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, which manages an extensive synchrophasor research and development program and has supported synchrophasor technology investment across North America.