

February 23, 2022 - DisTT Call Notes

Control Room Solutions Task Team (CRSTT)

Co-leads, Jim Kleitsch (jkleitsch@atcllc.com) and Cody Parker (CParker@spp.org)

Email list address: naspi-taskteam-controlroom@lyris.pnnl.gov

Distribution Task Team (DisTT)

Co-leads, Sascha Von Meier (vonmeier@berkeley.edu) and Dan Dietmeyer (DDietmeyer@semprautilities.com) Email list address: naspi-taskteamdistribution@lyris.pnnl.gov

Teresa Carlon, NASPI support and website and listserv contact (teresa.carlon@pnnl.gov)

Attendees

Roll call – see below.

Action items

Teresa, upload the recording the DisTT webpage.

CRSTT/DisTT Update led by Sascha. The CRSTT did not have any business to discuss today.

- Informal discussion today with Yoav Sharon, specially we wanted to talk about discussing prospective simulation experiments on fault location with synchronized measurements.
 - ✓ To see if we can brainstorm some experiments and experimental setup that meets with the hardware in the loop testbed that they have and that meets with the interests of the distribution test team.
 - ✓ Testbed might be suited for fault identification and fault location.
 - ✓ What can be done with different qualities or grades of measurement.
 - ✓ Isolate through our reclosers and substation feeder circuit breakers parts of a circuit or an entire circuit if we detect a broken wire before it hits the ground. We can, we can deenergize it and prevent the risk of fire.
 - ✓ How can we you know develop the distribution phase or measurement or synchronized measurement? Maybe would be a better would be a better word even if we go beyond PM use?

View the full recording here: https://www.naspi.org/sites/default/files/2022-02/20220223_CRSTT_DisTT_Mtg_Recording.mp4

Distribution Synchronized Measurements Roadmap Final Report:

https://www.naspi.org/sites/default/files/reference_documents/distribution_synch_measurement_roadmap_20210927.pdf

Next Call: Wednesday, March 23, 2022 at 1:00pm PT / 4:00pm ET. Please note the new recurring meeting invite. **Usually, the 4th Wednesday of the month unless otherwise noted.**

Attendees

Abd-Elaziz, Ahmed Andersen, Eric S Blanchard, Brent Carlon, Teresa A Dietmeyer, Daniel W Gilberto DeSalvo Goldstein, Allen R. Hu, Yi Jampala, Anil Joo, Jhi-Young Kirkham, Harold Mahapatra, Kaveri Nguyen, Thi Ha Ostash, Kevin Parashar, Manu Sharon, Yoav von Meier, Sascha Wold, Joshua Xie, Jiahao