

## Performance Requirements, Standards, & Verification Task Team (PRSVTT) Call Notes / September 25, 2020

Jim O'Brien (Jim.O'Brien@duke-energy.com) and Farnoosh Rahmatian (<u>frahmatian@nugridpower.com</u>), Co-leads Teresa Carlon (<u>teresa.carlon@pnnl.gov</u>), Support Email list address: <u>naspi-taskteam-performance@lyris.pnnl.gov</u>

## New business & action items:

NASPI Work Group virtual meeting, November 3-5, 2020.

1. Roll call – see below. Jim O'Brien led the meeting.

ΑII

- 2. Outstanding projects update
  - Survey of instrument transformers connected to installed PMUs Teresa emailed the cover letter, instructions, and Excel file to the SGIG recipients on September 21, 2020. She will follow up with them in the next couple of weeks, responses are due at the end of October.

Farnoosh Rahmatian/ Teresa Carlon

Progress of three white papers.

K.S. Sajan/ Pratim Kundu

- (Sajan) Survey of Existing PMU applications Around the World and Classification – after last meeting action items were made, some input has been received and in progress, framing an email that will be sent to potential volunteers, planning to share a common email ID, making updates on adding an objective and list of applications under each category, and different applications are assigned to volunteer(s).
- (Pratim) Analyzing Synchrophasor Performance Requirements for Synchrophasor based Control Applications – received input from volunteers, received comments, and are seeking responses to those comments, waiting on second round of input from the volunteers.
- (Pratim) Data Quality Impacts on Synchrophasor based Control Applications
   same as previous.
- 3. Update on other activities Standing Topics:
  - PMU Standards
    - C37.242 (Allen Goldstein); Has been submitted for ballot recirculation and once approved recirculation period will be 10 days. Hoping this happens soon.
    - C37.118.2 (Vasudev Gharpure); We met during the remote PSRC. We had a much larger attendance than normal; the remote meeting format seems to have helped. We received several comments and questions that will help

the document. Several guests have volunteered to review the document – which should help too. I still hope to go to ballot towards the end of the year. Our PAR expires end of 2021, so we may be OK.

- PDC Standard
  - Work Group C40 (Vasudev Gharpure); We have proposed a tutorial to PES, for the general meeting next year. Deadline for tutorial submission is May 2021.
- IEEE PES PSRC C23 (Allen Goldstein); meeting was well received, thanks to Teresa's All NASPI TT slides she pulled together, however there is no work to formally pass from PES to NASPI or the other direction; there was an interesting discussion of an idea for POW and ideal PMU data that Jeff Dagle agreed to write up as a proposal.
- IEEE ICAP/NIST (Allen Goldstein/ Ravi Subramaniam); no update.
- IEEE PE/PSCC P2664 Standard for Streaming Telemetry Transport Protocol (Ken Martin); meeting held this week, reviewed the draft, made small changes, had a good discussion, cleaned up the document and assigned new writing assignments.
   Virtual meetings in the future to figure out how to finish up the document.
- IEEE PES PSRC Task Force C41 Investigate Performance Requirements for
  Distribution PMUs (Ken Martin) people being pulled in a lot of different
  directions, it seems people want to continue the task force and will hold a few more
  virtual meetings prior to January and then will have a statement in January
  recommending how to proceed.
- DisTT Update (Harold Kirkham) Teresa, provide update here.
- 4. Other topics / new business;

ΑII

- NASPI webinar series; September 30, 2020, "Synchrophasor Technology at Dominion" with David Roop (retired) and Kevin Jones. <u>Learn</u> more!
- NDR synchrophasor technology tutorials

## Next PRSVTT Conference Call

Αll

October 30, 2020 at 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET.

## **Attendees**

Ali Arzani
Chandan Kumar
Dulip Madurasinghe
Farnoosh Rahmatian
Frank Tuffner
Hossein Hooshyar
Jim O'Brien
Ken Martin
NDR Sarma Nuthalapati
Parani Arunagirinathan
PS Chauhan
Rahul Choubey

Sajan Sadanandan Teresa Carlon Tom Rizy