IEEE-NASPI Oscillation Source Location Contest Winners

The IEEE-NASPI Oscillation Source Location committee would like to thank all of those who participated in the OSL contest and congratulate all of the contest winners below. More details about the contest and results will be presented at the NASPI fall Work Group meeting October 5-7, 2021 in a virtual format. We hope you’re able to join. Details of the NASPI WG virtual meeting will be posted here.


Tied for First Place: Team RPI – from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

  • Denis Osipov
  • Stavros Konstantinopoulos
  • Joe Chow

Tied for First Place: Team Woodpecker – from General Electric

  • Honggang Wang
  • Shaopeng Liu
  • Gang Zheng

Third Place: Team FIUBA – from University of Buenos Aires

  • Pablo Gill Estevez
  • Pablo Marchi
  • Cecilia Galarza



  • Ning Zhou (Binghampton University)
  • Jim Follum (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)
  • Athula Rajapakse (University of Manitoba)
  • Bin Wang (National Renewable Energy Laboratory)
  • Slava Maslennikov (ISO New England)
  • Mani Venkatasubramanian (Washington State University)
  • Evangelos Farantatos (Electric Power Research Institute)
  • Jeff Bloemink (Powertech Labs)